A Love Letter to My San Francisco Public School

Dear School,

I know this is technically the Infatuation Phase, the early, heady rush of new love. This is a time when my head spins at my unbelievable luck, a time when I still get butterflies in my stomach before each big new moment. This is a time when I don’t know what I ever did without you.

But even as I’m head over heels, I do see your flaws. And when I work for improvements, please don’t see it as me trying to change your inner core. I know that is not how love works.

Think of our Fall Spruce-Up Day and other efforts at change as pampering, the way I give my husband a night out with the boys or a day at the gym. The way he gives me a gift certificate for a manicure or a spa treatment. And know that no matter what cosmetic treatments I bestow upon you, I will always be attracted to your inner beauty.

How do I love you, my San Francisco Public School? Let me count the ways:

  1. Your student population truly represents the diversity of the City.
  2. And don’t get me started on your incredible parents! They wear legwarmers and business suits and uniforms with name tags and baggy pants and speak in accents and other languages and take the bus and drive expensive cars and have funky hair and have no hair and have very plain hair. They are white collar and blue collar and work in high tech and low tech or don’t work at all. They design wedding dresses and paint murals and compose music and write screenplays and write software code and fix cars and change diapers and answer phones and file lawsuits and file office records. In other words they represent a cross-section of San Francisco.
  3. Your teachers have a true mastery of the academic curriculum.
  4. Yet they are whimsical, fun-loving, creative, and down-to-earth.
  5. The first PTA meeting of the year was standing-room only.
  6. The principal’s number one priority for our children is to keep them safe and happy. Who can argue with that?
  7. There are so exciting many ways to volunteer that it is hard to limit myself to just a few.
  8. You are small, cozy, warm, and inviting, a true community. From day-one our family has never felt like outsiders.
  9. You bustle and brim with the energy of several hundred enthusiastic adults who care about the future of each and every child.
  10. You have made my daughter’s transition to Kindergarten relatively effortless and easy. She is happy and carefree, and that makes all the difference in the world.

Love Always,

Robin

P.S. If you are a reader who found this blog because you are a San Francisco preschool parent and you are embarking on the dreaded public school search, first of all I feel your pain.

Second of all, I’m not going to tell you which school I’m talking about. Not because I am trying to be mean or keep my family’s lovely little under-the-radar school all to ourselves.

Quite the contrary. I want to shout to the world that I am in love, in love in love! And I want everyone in the City to fall in love with our school just as my family has. But I don’t want to give away the farm just yet.

I want to keep the identity of our school under wraps for a little while longer because there are lots and lots of wonderful San Francisco public schools out there. Ours is just one of them.

4 thoughts on “A Love Letter to My San Francisco Public School

  1. I love love letters – just the way to brighten someone’s day. Your school must be a gem – we will one day all be so lucky as each school makes a name for itself in its own way.

  2. Pingback: Evolution of a Public School Parent | The Foggiest Idea

  3. Pingback: Trying So Hard To Do Non-Workish Writing and I End Up Getting Emotional Over Napkins | The Foggiest Idea

Leave a Reply

