Headed to the Dark Side?

I know this is a little anti-climactic. More of a Jar-Jar Binks fart noise than an Empire Strikes Back Luke-I-am-your-father moment. But remember how I made my daughter watch Star Wars with me the other day?

Well, she asked me to turn it off when we were about halfway through. She was bored. And by that time, Little One had finished swim class and arrived home. They watched Ni Hao Kai-lan together.

The next day Big Girl spent the whole day at a “Girls in Sports” clinic, which I think is much more awesome and empowering and all around better stuff than sitting on her duff on the sofa watching TV. So I let the Star Wars thing go. For now.

She did ask me one question about the whole thing: “Who are the main characters in Star Wars?”

“It’s more of an ensemble cast,” I replied. Then decided not to get too film school on her. “Who are the main characters to you?”

“Obi-Wan. R2. 3PO. And Luke,” she said. So at least she got something out of it.

3 thoughts on “Headed to the Dark Side?

  1. I’m not sure which version of Star Wars you’re talking about but Luke was definitely the main character of Ep4! It took getting to Return of the Jedi to realize that Vader was actually the “one who would bring balance to the force” even if he was the one who threw it out of balance and oppressed an empire (not to mention the poor lost souls of Alderaan) before he brought that balance back.

    Now that I’ve clarified that I’ll go back to arranging my Riders of Rohan figurines for the battle of Isengard.

  2. Pingback: How to Have The Big Talk | The Foggiest Idea

Leave a Reply

