a lady on the street: great moments in aural development

Like many parents, I enjoy transcribing amusing bits of discourse that I have with my kids. Today’s tales relate to our ongoing quest to engage my children’s auditory development.

Scene One.

Me: Girls, this guy on the radio is Marvin Gaye. He’s very important to your musical education so listen up.

Big Girl: Is he gay?

Me: I don’t know. What’s gay?

Big Girl: When two dads marry each other.

Me: Well. Oh. Okay. Then he’s not.

Scene Two.

Little Girl: Why does this band called Queen sound like all boys?

Scene Three.

Big Girl: Mom, did you hear what that guy Usher just said in that song? He said, “I want a lady on the street and a freak in the bed.” Isn’t that funny, Mom?

Me: Erm, yea. Ha ha. Let’s change the station. How about some Glee?

Scene Four.

Big Girl: Dad, I think you should be a DJ. And your DJ name should be DJ Dad.

One thought on “a lady on the street: great moments in aural development

  1. hahaha I love it! When my youngest was about 3 and I thought she was still blissfully unaware of radio lyrics, I was mortified to hear her singing about whatcha gonna do with all that junk in her trunk. Not one of my prouder parenting moments. 🙂

Leave a Reply

