Love.

In the skin that I’m in (a straight, white woman of Protestant background) I can barely imagine the pain and fear that so many people I love have had to carry on this earth – just for being themselves and living their lives and telling their truths.

But I will say this, for my children and for their friends and for the kids I will never know:

I see you. I love you. I accept you for who you are.

FullSizeRender (2)

And I will do everything in my power to teach my children to love and accept. To respect and honor the humanity in everyone. To admit when they are ignorant and try to do better. To fight hate and injustice in whatever nasty form it takes. I hope and pray that my children will be part of a generation that is full of so much love that they will put me to shame.

We haven’t done SF Pride in many years, but this year I want to show my kids that we will always, always, always stand on the side of love.

One thought on “Love.

  1. Thank you, Robin. You are able to articulate so beautifully what you feel and perceive and what needs to be said. Thank you and I love you. I too am going to march in the Pride Parade this year. We usually do but this year I am afraid and because I’m afraid I will definitely be there. Love, love, love.

Leave a Reply

