Self Care: Don’t Stop Til You Get Enough

selfcare-image

I don’t write a blog to be rich and famous. If that were the case I would be failing miserably.

I’m not a “Mommy Blogger.” I don’t promote products.

I write on this dorky website as a form of mental exercise. Exercise for my brain. Self-care if you will. Writing this blog is a sort of mental gymnastics. It’s a regular brain dump that helps me to do better at my other writing.

I write all day long at work. It is interesting to me. It may be dull to some and that’s ok. Others find it functional and useful.

I write lots of bits of fiction and some weird poems, and I have at least five unfinished novels squirreled away in the dark recesses of my Dropbox account.

So why am I doing the blog brain dump? This is self-care. We’re all talking a lot about self-care in these scary times. We need to stay woke. We need to keep working. We need to #Resist. And we need to care for ourselves and those we love so that we do not collapse under the weight of this world.

Here are some ways I like to practice self-care. I’m not an expert, but these work for me. Maybe you can share what works for you.

Go for a run that my body is in no way prepared to endure while I listen to Metallica. When I can’t catch my breath I’m forced to be present and focus on my actual physical body.

Go to church. Doesn’t matter what brand. Just sit in the pews and be quiet with your God. I like to sit and cry with one of my best friends about her green card and our rights to get abortions and the children and …oh wait it is not self-care to spiral like this. Anyway, you are welcome to join us at my church anytime. Just DM me and I will save you a seat on Sunday.

Snuggle in bed with the kids and tell them that you love them no matter what.

Make something. Paint. Draw. Write. Dance. Design a garden for your patio. Sew some throw pillows out of old t-shirts.

Do 34 minutes of yoga while listening to this playlist. I guarantee it will lift your spirits. If you aren’t into yoga just take a walk and listen.

Family Affair by Mary J. Blige

Return of the Mack by Mark Morrison

Right Here (Human Nature Mix) by SWV

Lovely Day by Bill Withers

Set Adrift on Memory Bliss by PM Dawn

Poison by Bel Biv Devoe

Tear the Roof off the Sucker by Parliament

Don’t Stop ‘Til You Get Enough by Michael Jackson

Stop sleeping with the phone beside the bed. Take a walk and leave the phone inside the house.

Cook something with a three-year-old helper. If you don’t feel like cooking just read a food blog or something else that has nothing to do with politics or government.

Read some good fiction. (I have a reading list for you but that’s another blog post for another day.)

Watch the movie Captain Fantastic with (older) kids and think about how much you love your children.

Stay busy. I don’t mean put your head in the sand and pretend that nothing is happening. But staring at the computer in a panic all day isn’t exactly helping me to be productive.  I’m trying so hard to keep my body moving, my mind active, my heart open.

Wake up each morning and say the following words out loud: “NOT TODAY, SATAN.” And mean it!

nottodaysatan

One thought on “Self Care: Don’t Stop Til You Get Enough

  1. Thanks, Robin.

    On Wed, Feb 1, 2017 at 1:51 PM, The Foggiest Idea wrote:

    > thefoggiestidea posted: ” I don’t write a blog to be rich and famous. If > that were the case I would be failing miserably. I’m not a “Mommy Blogger.” > I don’t promote products. I write on this dorky website as a form of mental > exercise. Exercise for my brain. Self-care if you wi” >

Leave a Reply

